The jacarandas are magnificent this year. The town is awash with their particular shade of blue-purple. The path into town is a carpet of petals.

They are my calendar, telling me where we are in the year. Late, late, late!

I am reminded of one of the first poems I had published, when I was young and sentimental. So many dreams undone!

 

Jacaranda Bloom

The jacaranda is out again

A shatter of colour

against summer green

A reminder of all the things not done

since last year’s bloom

 

Time lost

walking crab-wise

across the year

Wisdom crabbed

with sideways looks

not daring to turn far from the day

to see the day beyond

 

So now a cloud of jacaranda blue

to lighten the heart

Grips instead at dreams undone

 

 

NOTE: My hand itched to edit this poem but I resisted.

First published in Centoria, 1998.

Leave a Reply

